Homeschooling is a challenge without having to figure out all the legal verb-age that you find on the Internet. Here is a layman’s explanation of what you have to do to get your legal basis covered in order to educate your children at home.
Important Homeschool Laws in Utah:
1. Every year you are required to fill out an affidavit for each of your children you plan on home schooling. You will need to get each affidavit notarized. We usually just go to our bank to get those done. You can get a copy of the affidavit by clicking on this link:
2. That affidavit requires you to instruct your children in the subjects required by the Utah State Board of Education. Don’t worry about the word “required.” Click on each subject for some suggestions that will fill the state mandate.
|Elementary Students (K-2)||reading/language arts, math, and integrated curriculum|
|Elementary Students (3-6)||reading/language arts, math, science, social studies, the arts, health education, physical education, educational technology, and library media|
|Middle School Students (7-8)||language arts, math, science, social studies, the arts, physical and health education, and “career and technical education, life and careers.”|
|High School Students (9-12)||language arts, math, science, social studies, the arts, physical and health education, and “career and technical education,” educational technology, and library media skills|
3. It is also important to understand what the state can and cannot do. The Board of Education is required to give you a certificate within 30 days of receiving your affidavit. That acknowledges that they are aware that your children will not be attending a public school.
- require you to show (or even keep) educational records [although I think this is very important that you do keep records]
- require you to receive any credentials to teach your children at home
- request an inspection of your home or other locations that you might use for schooling purposes
- require your children to take standardized tests (this changes if you choose to use an online resource that comes from the state)
Additional information about Utah Home School Laws:
The state requires that all children from ages 6 to 18 be in school. So if you are going to teach any of your children at home that are in that age bracket, then you need to fill out the affidavit for them. They are required to do 180 days of school and fulfill 990 hours of education for grades 2-12, 810 hours for 1st grade, and 450 hours for kindergarten.
Don’t get too concerned about these numbers. Over time, you will realize that your education at home will more than easily meet these requirements. You are not required to maintain any record of your school days, but you ought to be aware that this expectation is on the books.
If you have any more questions about Utah Homeschool Laws check out this link to the state’s site:
Utah Code Annotated 53A-11-101(5)(a)
Additional Questions about Utah Homeschool Laws
Is there a certain curriculum required? No.
What requirements or qualifications must I have to teach my children at home? None
Is a Notice of Intent to homeschool required? If so when and where do you need to submit it? Just the Affidavit mentioned above
Is Standardized Testing required? If so, when and where do you send results? No.
Can homeschool students participate in extracurricular activities at the public schools? Yes (check the following link for more information: http://le.utah.gov/code/TITLE53A/htm/53A11_010206.htm